Ads

Viewers Make Meaning

Advertisements

Going into advertising after I graduate has always been an options I have kept open. The advertising industry intrigues me quite a bit. I high school one of my favorite class if not my favorite class was psychology. I decided that psychology specifically was not what I really wasn’t to concentrate my studies on in college but I still think that it is very relevant when discussing most other fields of study, for example, advertising. The company/people constructing the ad have to get into the heads of the consumers and figure out what will have the most impact on the general population. In this chapter article it elaborates on this ins and out of advertising and ways that advertising seeks to interpellate viewer-consumers in constructing them with in the “you of that ad.”

Below I have found some ads. They aren’t ones that you see normally , but nonetheless I found them intriguing and was pondering their meaning/significance.

MAIN

Close-ups of the main image in the ad can give the viewer a sense that the photographed subject looks directly into the viewers eyes and soul. This ad does this by speaking mainly towards women, but men too asking them to stand up and fight for the rights that they should already have.

sexist-arbys

Ads also function as giving a certain expectation about the work (in this case food)

This ad, although a tad inappropriate, tries to signify how great the Arby’s burgers are.

It seems to me that producers (or just the people ads) use sex and sexualized images of women usually, to intrigue men usually the audience. This ad would probably air on a sports network or in a sports magazine. Literature usually read by men.

images

This add is very strong in meaning. It seems to say that without consuming this magical pomegranate juice you will die, emphasized even more by the noose wrapped about the neck of the bottle.

magazine ads (1)

This is an add for paint very convicinly portraying that this paint can match whatever color you want, no matter how specific it is. They have the ability to give you chile pepper red.

zesty_dining_room_aotw

I chose to display this add because I thought it was funny. Also it gives a nice contrast to the one above that sexualized women. This ad would obviously be more directed at women. Women are traditionally the ones doing the grocery shopping and the cooking and therefore this add may appear in a cooking magazine or another magazine that women might tend to pick up.

(for clarification the words on this add says, “The only thing better than dressing is undressing”

Leave a comment